Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It

I woke up today to receive two more books through the post which I ordered off Amazon last week. I have spent this morning looking through both books, ‘Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It’ by Scott Kelby and ‘Light & Shoot 50 Fashion Photos’ by Chris Gatcum and have already learnt new lighting skills and techniques from both books. ‘Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It’ is a very informative book which gives you tips on how to light a studio, but not having to spend thousands of pounds on equipment. Kelby lists alternative methods which will give you the same results, but for a lot less. This book also gives you tips on how to retouch photographs after a shoot using programs such as Lightroom and Photoshop, giving you downloadable images to follow along with the tutorials in the book. ‘Light & Shoot 50 Fashion Photos’ gives you examples of professional photographers work and shows you how they have lit each shot, also providing you with lighting equipment information. I am currently looking into buying my own studio lighting, therefore these books are a big help, but I think they will in addition further my skills in studio photography. I have recently bought quite a few books in order to learn more skills before leaving university, to give me more potential when it comes to getting a job. Although I study BA Hons Graphic Design in university, I have furthered my skills by expanding to photography also. So far I have done unpaid photography jobs for certain events and a 1 month photography internship with Orange Rockcorps, but I think adding photography to my skills may help me when it comes to getting a job. Or maybe this is something I could look into when leaving University, either as a side-job or just as a hobby. As part of ProCon3, we will be given the chance to expand our skills through certain workshops, which I look forward to.

Leave a Reply

