Liverpool Trip

Today was a uni trip to Liverpool to visit various Art Galleries around the city. On arrival we visited ‘FACT’, which displayed exhibition ‘Primitive’ by Apichatpong Weerasethakul. I didn’t really like this artwork as it only consisted of multimedia videos, which I didn’t quite understand the meaning of fully. When walking from FACT to The Bluecoat Gallery I saw quite a few pieces of street art I found interesting, one very much in the style of Banksy, although I wasn’t sure of the actual artist. Next was ‘The Bluecoat Gallery’. In here I found a few pieces I liked by artist ‘Jorge Martínez García’. These pieces were created using the etching technique and contained very fine details; when looking closely at his pieces I realised there were some images hidden inside others, which I liked about this artist’s technique. Next was the ‘A Foundation’, which I didn’t really like. Most pieces didn’t make much sense or have any explanation, although I did like the space the exhibition was set up in; one large room was full of small built garage’s, each displaying a different video inside. Finally, we visited ‘Tate Liverpool’. Not many pieces caught my eye in here since there was a sculpture exhibition on, and overall I had hoped to see more Graphic Design pieces. The works of Jorge Martínez García can be found at the following website: http://www.craigscottgallery.com/?sec=2&artist_id=4
Jorge Martínez García Jorge Martínez García Jorge Martínez García Street Art (Liverpool)

Leave a Reply

